Marsh Harriers and Buzzards

images (3)

Above these words is a picture of a Buzzard in flight, note it’s majesticness… Pretty sure that’s not a word but whatever rolling with it. Apart from Eagles which we also sometimes get around here. Sea Eagles not Golden Eagles although there’s a few in the nearby lake district. It’s pretty much the largest bird of prey I see on a regular basis.

We had a nest nearby, the babies have all fledged now. Never actually saw it but I know it was there because of the kids I saw flying around the deer field opposite my house. Call it a deer field because there’s always a deer in it lol. Anywho got to see the fledging baby buzzards which was cool, they also make a nice noise as well, a sorta piercing whistle that I feel is a defininitive Bird of prey noise.

Hardly used to see them down in the midlands, they were a bird that suffered heavily from the farmers use of the pesticide ddt. The only time I ever saw them when I was a kid was when we went up north to see my grandma in herefordshire. Now just like the Red Kite they’ve bounced back magnificently which is awesome.

images (5)

This is the Marsh Harrier, another bird I see sometimes at the nearby wildlife reserve. Their not exactly common in england but their doing a lot better then their cousins the Hen Harrier. Their pretty cool to watch flying around, their wings go up over their backs in a V shape. Reminds me of Klingon ships lol. Yeah i’m a nerd so what?

There’s a few hundred pairs spread out across England and Scotland but their only really summer visitors. I think there is a resident population in the far south but i’m unsure and don’t quote me on this. In any case I enjoy seeing them and their a nice bird to catch in the air.

Leave a comment